• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bunny anaesthetics..........

DaisyMay

Warren Scout
I'm a trainee veterinary nurse and at the practice I work at the vets use Domitor and Ketamine to anaesthetise rabbits for dentals etc but was wondering what other peoples vets use? :?
Last time my bunny Daisy had a dental she had very bad diarrhoea which lead to gastric stasis so if she needs a dental again we are just going to use Isoflurane as hopefully it won't have such a bad effect on her. I'm just a bit worried that having a mask over her face and nasty smelling gas to breathe in might stress her out as well :shock: I just don't know what would be best. :?

My Vet uses Domitor and Ketamine. Then Antisedan as the 'reversal'
If necessary she tops them up on Isofluorane. But as you know with just Isoflo' there is always the risk of 'breath holding'

Janex

It may be different in the UK, but most rabbit vets in the US use only Isoflorane (sp?). That's actually on the list of questions the House Rabbit Society provides to ask a new vet- which anesthetic they use. Isoflorane is supposed to be the correct answer.

Supposedly it's not very stressful.

Thanks for your reply. I know thats what I'm worried about. I'm just so worried that she will have a reaction like last time :( . I thought I was going to loose her. I'm just not sure what to do for the best :? We do dentals on rabbits most days at work and they always seem to recover well after Dom/Ket and Antisedan but daisy just seemed really slow to come round last time and then she ended up at the emergency vets for the weekend! Bunnies are such a worry.

DaisyMay said: