• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

20% mortality rate!

Jonny

Warren Scout
Asked the vet today about getting my girls spayed and asked him what the risk was. He said he lost about 1 in 5 bunnies who were in for a spay :shock:

Now I'm relatively new to the world of wabbuts, but that does sound very high!

Is this normal, or should I seek out another vet?

:shock: That sounds wayyyyyyy high, I'd have thought it would be nearer 1 in 100 or less. I'd definitely seek out another vet! Whereabouts do you live, someone might be near enough to recommend somewhere?

OMG, I'd be looking for another vet, whereabouts do you live? Maybe someone on here can recommend one for you?

That sounds much too high! :shock: When I asked my vets the same question their answer was that they hadn't lost a single one! I would definitely be looking for another vet. :thumb:

That sounds very high, considering that quite a few rescues on here get all their does neutered and many owners do. I've not been a member that long but it doesn't seem to be that high a ratio.

Just thinking though...it is high and you should deffinatley find another vet imo BUT it is still a lot lower than the 85% that get cancer from not being done :roll:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Eeeek!! Like ever one else had said. I would seek out another vet.

m
xx

Bloomin' 'eck! That vet doesn't sound very optimistic - I wouldn't have had mine done in a million years if the vet had made it sound anything other than routine (plus the vet was recommended to me by Alison anyway!) :)