• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Biting rabbit

GringoPete

New Kit
Hi, I am fairly new to rabbits, I was given two rabbits as a birthday present from my wife. They are now 8 months old. A male and a female. They have both had the snip. They are both very friendly and run up to me when I go into their shed, the male seems to lick me constantly which we think is sweet, but the female although very friendly to me, tends to try and nip my wife! Is there anyway to stop this?

thanks in advance

Peter

http://www.houserabbit.co.uk/pdfs/BitingHandlft_05_05.pdf#search='aggressive%20rabbits%20rwa' this leaflet may help you.

If I have any rabbits in foster care who tend to be aggressive, I do not allow the rabbit to think I am frightened of them. I will talk to them all the time I am trying to deal with them whether I am in their territory or elsewhere. I dont take away food bowls unless I have given them a new one etc! I also dress so that I dont need to be frightened of them ... gloves, wellies, coat etc .. if they bite or attack I wont get hurt. Most will calm down given time and once tey realise that you are not going to hurt them.

the female is not really really aggresive, just walks over and has a nip, not a full on bite. I am not scared of her, she never nips me. I think it it funny but the wife doesnt.

Mhairi does this if I'm not paying her enough attention, i just tap her nose and say no.
She also nibbles my jumper is she wants snuggled in.