• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Students keeping rabbits

Bionic Bunny

Alpha Buck
I am a vet student at Liverpool uni and as you can probably tell am rabbit mad. Some of my friends from uni want to get a rabbit for their student house and I want to try and talk them out of it. My argument being it will cost them a huge amount of money for a proper sized hutch and to vaccinate and spay or castrate and that it is unfair to keep an animal that lives in a social group on its own. The area they live in is also not really safe to have a rabbit outside. Can anybody offer me any advice on how to offer them my opinion or any other arguments as to why it is a bad idea. I am desperate rabbits again but it is such a huge responsibilty I am waitng until I have finished my degree.

Who would have the rabbit after they no longer live together? Even a hamster is likely to live longer than the students will live together. And what about the holidays?

I have spent an absolute fortune in the 6 months I've had my 2 bunnies - having been a student in the past I know very well that I couldn't have afforded it when I was a poor student.

Hmmm I was a student with bun, but then I guess I always had buns and where I go they go with me!!!

So i suppose I knew the conditions before hand!!

we did also get a student hamster callled archibald though.

Go for a pair of Rats, they're more likely to be awake when you crazy students come in at 3am

:wave: Nice to see you back by the way!!

what will they do with it in holidays? And when they finish uni? If they get a baby and do a three year degree it could live for 7 years beyond them finishing uni....

Who will take it? How do they know where they will be living then and would be in a position to keep it?