• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help!Bonding not going too well

bilbo

Alpha Buck
Well im stuck :?
Bilbo just isnt havin any of it. She is chasing maisy and pulling her fur out..i keep splitting them up when she does this because i dont want bilbo to hurt maisy, should i just let them get on with it?i think it could be bilbo telling maisy shes boss?just help me please!

I agree with what Nicole says, but just be extra careful in terms on supervision because of the size difference between them.

Not that I'm an expert, but I'd leave them to sort it out - obv watch them carefully and they'll hopefully calm down.

My two were like this and the car journey seemed to sort them out - was well scary at first, and scrapping in the cat carrier for 10 mins before I could start driving - but just keep at it and unless they are really hurting themselves then split them up - admittedly I did this in the car as it was getting silly, but try to be tough with them.

If you leave them to it, they might settle. Believe me, if they need separating, you'll know about it :shock: .

You know on cartoons where fighting animals look like a ball of dust, flying fur, legs and teeth? That's what two fighting rabbits looks like :| :|.

i know how hard it is to stand there and let them get on with it.
but it's for the best. just have a little faith in your self and buns.

keep us posted.xxx

Normally I'd say just leave them to get on with it, but as it's 2 unspayed females and one is substantially bigger than the other, I'd say keep them separate but close by until they are both spayed and more settled, then try again somewhere entirely neutral. Would be interested to hear what rescues who bond females together think though :?