• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Pigs & buns pet shop prob x2!

rabswood

Wise Old Thumper
While out and about today I saw a large privately owned pet shop. Thought I would go in to check it out and if they sold animals see what conditions they were being kept in (now I know that I can complain to the Council I feel better placed to be able to make a difference)

Anyway, no suprise, pigs and buns were housed together.

I went to talk to the Manager

Me: ''Hello (smiling) can you tell me if you sell the pigs and buns together to live as a pair?''

Manager: (smiling) ''Yes we do.''

Me: ''Oh dear, that's really not good practice, there are lots of reasons why rabbits and g pigs should not live together.''

Manager: (not smiling) ''That's not true, I'm a vetnary nurse rabbits and g pigs are fine together''

Me: ''one of the reasons is that g pigs need more vit c than rabbits''

Manager: ''yes that's correct''

Me: ''if the rabbit eats the pigs diet it will get the runs''

Manager: ''Not if you wean the rabbit onto g pig food, increasing its intake gradually, like us their bodies will only use what they need''

DIDN'T KNOW THE ANSWER TO THAT

Me ''Another reason is that they are two completely different species, it doesn't matter when they are babies but as they get older problems can occur''

Anyway the conversation went on a bit but as she was the vet nurse I wasn't getting anywhere.

I asked if I could take her some information in as I couldn't remember the names of the diseases etc and she said she would read it. I also told her that P at H are intending to split their instore pigs and rabbits up and that it even says in their info leaflet that they should not live together.

To this she replied that Pat H were rubbish and didn't know anything anyway...