• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbit Harness

Frankie

Young Bun
Hi

I need to take hotpot to the vets soon to be spayed and I was thinking about getting a harness for her due to her size and not being able to fit in the cat carrier i have for my other two.
Can anybody recommend any good harness which she would find comfortable and that would be safe for her or whether this is even a good idea :D

Hiya. I would not recommend you take your Bun to the Vet in a harness. She may be BIG but she is still a Bunny and therefore will be very frightened. She will need a secure crate for transportation.
I am against the use of a harness for any rabbit full stop but that is just MY personal opinion and I know many people disagree :D

Janex

im no expert, but i wouldnt think it would be a good idea really.

The bunny might feel a bit exposed, and personally i would want a more secure option.

also if she is being spayed, when you are bringing her home i shouldnt imgaine a harness would be a good idea either! if she were to be leaping around etc ..... i would perfer if it were my bun that she was in a nice safe box were she could be kept quietly with out risk of pulling stiches etc after op.

Ihave to agree with Jane. She is a rabbit and if she is on a harness in a strange place and someone brings a dog in on a lead then all hell may break loose!!! It'll be stressful enough for her so I would get her a crate.

I agree too about not using one, Its def. not a good idea. She isnt a dog, and wont walk where she is meant to. I bought a harness, and hate it!! Think how small and delicate their little bodies are (Especially their necks :shock: ), there is no way that pulling them away from danger or whatever you do when it pulls, cant harm bunny. I'd say a definate No No!! Xx