• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hello - I'm new

kkliskey

New Kit
Hi my name is Karolina, I have just recently adopted two beautiful dwarf lops, Chloe and Millie,although i think chloe is a little confused as she has one lop ear and one sticky up ear :D. They are both 9 weeeks old. I have been looking at old posts on this forum all week and thought i had better join myself. You all seem so helpfull.

I have a couple of questions actually seeing as i'm new to the whole bunny thing. Fistly, Chloe and Millie live in our study. They have a big cage but are let out in the morning and evening when we are around to make sure they don't do anything too naughty. All the furniture in this room is untreated pine so if they do have a secret nibble, will it hurt them in anyway?

Secondly, I went out with the intention of bringing one bunny home, but came back with two. I couldn't resist Millies eyes looking at me while i was holding chloe. So now i have two and they are so much fun to watch as they play, run and groom each other. My only concern now, is that as they have each other, they won't come anywhere near me. They will eat treats from my hand but i can't stroke them or pick them up. This is a real problem because at night they don't always want to go back into their cage. On thursday night, me and my boyfriend were up until one am trying to coax them back in so we could go to bed ourselves. Any ideas? I read a bit about handling rabbits and alot of info contradicts each other. Some advice says to handle as much as possible and other advice says i shouldn't handle them until they are more used to me. I've only had them a week. What do you all think?

Sorry for so many questions :)
Karolina xx

hi and welcome