• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Can a rabbit (male) and a guinea pig (female) co-habit

ailz

Alpha Buck
I've just bought my first, rabbit and guinea pig together. I was told by 2 different shops that I couldn't put 2 guinea pigs together, but that a rabbit and guinea pig would be fine. Now someone has told me that the rabbit might kill the guinea pig as he gets older (they are 3 months old).

I'm here to ask which is the truth. I don't want them hurting one another, but I was buying the guinea pig and didn't want it to be alone. Now I've fallen madly for the rabbit (Toshiro). They have the run of the living room when we are in the house and are only shut up when we are out or in bed.

Am I doing them any harm :?:

Hiya! I'm no expert on guineas (there are a few on here though!) but I do know that it's not recommended to keep rabbits and guinea pigs together. There are a few reasons for this:-

Guineas require vitamin C in their diet and rabbits don't. Rabbits require additional vitamin D. It is possible to get round (feeding lots of veg, making sure they get lots of sunlight etc) but not ideal.

What you were told about injuries is correct - when your male rabbit matures, which won't be long now, he is likely to get a bit randy and try and hump your guinea pig. This will be extremely distressing for the piggie and could cause it serious damage. Sometimes rabbits will get actively aggressive towards piggies, sometimes they won't. But also they can accidentally harm them, for example if they are scared, they could easily catch a piggie with their big rear feet and do it a serious injury.