• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Any ideas for my coursework ?

I am doing a degree in Animal Behaviour and Welfare and i have been set a mini dissatation of 5000 words. I have to choose a topic and study the behaviour of an animal. I really want to do it on rabbits as i have 9 myself.

I did think of doing feeding times and studying them eating from a bowl and in a food ball to see if it increased the amount of time spent eating. As this would help pet owners to keep their rabbits active and help to prevent stereotypic behaviour e.g pacing.

please let me know if anyone has any ideas thanks x x
:D

hi

oooh do bonding for a real challenge - we'll hang on your every word as we're all obsessed with it :lol:

Ooooh yes bonding! Or alternatively, instead of focussing in just on how feeding makes buns more active, a study on the difference in behaviour between bunnies which are kept alone in a hutch, and those who are kept in enriched environments, whether it be as a housebunny, or outdoors with a large enclosure/shed/companion etc might be interesting?

hi

hmmm - studying behaviour of bunnies in a restricted environment would mean subjecting bunnies to that environment for the purposes of research - not very nice :(

I was thinking more of visiting bunnies who are known to already live like that (I'm sure we can all list people we know who own single buns in hutches), with the aim that at the end, the results of the study could be presented to them so they may perhaps improve their bunny's quality of life :D