• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Views on a leash/harness

Milo

Young Bun
Are they a bad idea or not? I have never tried them before so i don't know. It would be easier then setting a pen up outside in my back yard, but if they hate it then I wouldn't do it.

Well if anybody has used them or knows about them some input would be great.

Thank you!

BTW: I ask tons of questions, sorry o.o'

I am thinking about building a pen for summer, but right now I do need to take my bun outside so I do use a harness. I know a lot of people frown on them but I dont understand why. I bought the right harness that will keep my bun safe, I make sure its on the rightway, and I walk him only in safe areas. I say its great if you have a great harness and you make sure the bun is safe!!! :D :D

I tried a harness with Zeus and he skitzed mainly I think because the bit that went round his chest was too tight. He will walk on a dog leesh but usually only where he wants to go :roll: !

I never bothered with the others as I have the pens.

It really depends on the rabbit, some take to it easily - others can't stand it!

Caz

You have to keep up with the bunny and hold the lead up so it doesn't tangle around their legs. If you don't fancy bounding round the garden like a loon then a harness probably isn't the best plan. If you fancy a bit of exercise then go for it. We used to use harnesses, but the little devils used to clamber under bushes and get the leads all tangled up.

It very much depends on the rabbit.
I used to use a harness for Blueberry with no problems - except running round the garden with her! you have to keep up so the harness doesn't pull.
I wont try one with Brian as I know he would hate it, you need quite a laid back bunny.

bbj.jpg