• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New bunnie, where to site the hutch

ForMyDaughter

Young Bun
have to say what a great place this is everyone seems very helpfull and passionate about bunnies, brilliant :D

I have two daughters nine and three years and would like to get one possibly two bunnies, i had rabbits as a child many years ago :)

I have read a lot about bunnies on this forum and feel ready to offer a good, loving and long term home to a new friend.

My only real question that i haven't found the answer to already on here, is where to site the hutch.

I am a carpenter so plan to show off a bit and build a large well made hutch, i have a shed 8ft x 6ft so could build insdie it a two storey hutch, each floor being 8ft x 3ft with a run outside connected to the hutch.
The shed has no windows and shares space with a petrol mower and strimmer so there is the slight smell of petrol.

Or the hutch (same size) can go outside in a sheltered spot out of direct sunlight again with a run.

Can you please give advice/suggestions on the best place to site the hutch

Keith

My advice is buy the bunnies another shed!!!
I wouldnt advise you to house a bunny is a shed with a petrol mower especially if it has no windows

Thankyou bluebunny you are right, unfortuantely funds and space are limited

would a hutch outside be that bad?

btw could someone please recomend a book for my daughter to reed on the basics of looking after a rabbit, see is nine years old so nothing heavy going

thanks

Alot of people house their rabbits outside.. Maybe you can build them a nice big hutch with run attached or underneath it.

Its nice to have them in a shed so you can sit in there with them even if the weather outside is miserable. Could you build/buy a mini shed/store for the mower?