• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help with orphaned wild bunny

mummybear

New Kit
Hi,
I'm new here and could really do with some advice please as I am a complete rabbit novice, but doing my best! For the last week I have been hand rearing some orphaned baby rabbits (I could not find anyone who would take them on) Sadly only one now survives but is looking quite fit and well. The problem is that it seems to miss the others quite badly and looks lost now it doesn't have the others to snuggle up with. I have made it as warm and cosy as possible but when I tend to it, he/she trys to get into my hands to be fussed. I have been trying not to handle them more than neccessary as they were going to be released back into the wild, but now the others are gone it seems the remaining one is desperate for contact. It's making me sad to see. I think it is about 14+ days old.
I have 2 questions: Should it be released into the wild when appropriate as it is a single hand reared rabbit? Secondly if it is better to keep it as a pet should I now get a young domestic rabbit to keep it company - or is this a complete no-no? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I desperately want to do the right thing. Thankyou.

Ah, sorry, I've put this in the wrong part of the forum. I don't know forums very well. My son says a moderator might be able to move it to the right place. Could someone do that please?

Last edited: