• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hellooooo!!

_mchaplin_

New Kit
Hi everyone, I am new to this Rabbit forum and I am already loving it and reading everyone’s posts! We currently have one ‘mini lion lop’ rabbit who USED to be the most friendly rabbit in the world! He would chase after you and bound around you and always want to play! This was until... we bought another rabbit, the reason for this was because we didn’t want him to get lonely. When the other rabbit was introduced he was no where near as friendly, he hid in corners didn’t want to play anything and wasn’t up for cuddles. Very sadly the new rabbit passed away due to a blockage in her lungs. Now Bumble (the friendly one) completely lost everything that was friendly about him. He hates being picked up will literally have a spasm attack in your arms and scratch you to death! He doesn’t come out to see you and hides away. In his outdoor run whenever you take him out to put him to bed he runs into the corner. He has been like this for over 2 months now and I am just wondering is there is anything we can do. Now... I know that no one will approve of this but ever since my rabbit was a baby we had Guinea pigs, the Guinea pigs get along so well with Bumble. And bumble even grooms and licks them. They always snuggle under each other! So we didn’t think he was lonely. Please can someone advise on just what to do??!! Thanks !! I would seriously appreciate it!

_mchaplin_

I’m very sorry you lost your rabbit :cry: The best company for a rabbit is another rabbit. Keeping rabbits and guinea pigs together is not recommended as they csn injure each other and also pass illnesses on (bordatella) in particular.

Is he neutered? Does he have plenty of space permanently available to him?