• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New to owning Rabbits and G.pigs - Advice required

Thunder

New Kit
Hi, i am new to owning rabbits and g.pig and i am looking for some advice on general feeding tips.

What fruit and vegetables can they eat. I have feed them carrots, cabbage, spinage, cucumber. What else can they eat?

I rescued one boy g.pig who has been done and them got a female. These two now live happy together, but i have now rescued another two girls that lived together. Can i put them all together and if so, how do i go about it. I thought of putting the two girlies in a hutch in the shed where the other two have a free run of. this way they can get to know each other until they can be together. Is this ok to do?

Also i have a little boy lion head who lives on his own at the moment and is due to be done after the holidays. He is about 8 mths old. I was thinking of getting him a friend. Is it best to get one the same sort of age, as i have seem a 14wk baby rabbit looking for a new home. Advise please.

Many thanks in advance.

I'm afraid i cant comment on the bonding issues as i havent done that myself yet.
As for other things rabbits can eat.. well u can give them small amounts of fruit such as apples, banana, grape, also herbs such as parsley, coriander. Mine also enjoys a small piece of dried wholemeal bread occassionally. There are lots of lists of good and bad foods for rabbits in the sticky topic at top of rabbit care.

hi i dont know about g-pigs but rabbits can eat many friut and veg but not lettice or cucumber because of the water content i can cause bad diarriah (sorry cant spell it) and DONT FEED or wet grass to a rabbit under 6 months old it can kill them

bunnylove said: