• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

setting up a rabbit rescue

bunnygran

Warren Scout
I started keeping rabbits only 3 years ago. I discovered what a joy they are to look after fairly late in life! I would really love to set up a rabbit rescue or sanctuary (to help a a fairly small number of rabbits) when I retire in a couple of years.

How did you rabbit rescuers start? We have got two house rabbits from a rabbit sanctuary and I was thinking of asking if I could spend time with them to learn as much as possible, but I would like to know how best to house the rabbits and also ways of finding finance to help with the costs of vets, feeding etc.

Any advice would be very welcome.

sorry i've no experience to go on. so this is just a thought... what about contacting the local rspc? in my search for Jack and rescues in the Yorkshire area I discovered one lady who took in rabbits that would normally have been pts for her rspca. unfortunately i don't know any more than this about her operation, finances etc.

I am sure there are loads of other people far more qualified than me to answer your questions but could you become a volunteer at a local rescue and be a fosterer too. At least that way you could see how the rescue is run and see the financial side of things before you took the step of setting up one of your own.

Hiya Bunnygran,

the best advice I can offer in a hurry, is to suggest that you go and read the Cottontails Rescue web site, as I believe they have a write up on this exact question.
Please can someone find us the web site link???