• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Advice please

Milly912

New Kit
Hi,

I'm new to rabbit care. I have a male (neutered) rabbit he is 8 months old. He was neutered in December, so the amount of time has passed that I was advised before I introduced a female rabbit. I would like to get him a friend and I've seen a female rabbit that is 4 months old, so obviously hasn't been sprayed as yet (but would be when old enough). They will both live indoors, and my male rabbit has adjusted to sharing the house with me well, I just wondered if anyone had any advise, i.e. firstly is a good idea to introduce an a female that has been sprayed yet, should I keep them apart until she has been.. etc... etc.

Any advise greatly received before I make the decision on getting him a companion.

Hi,

I'm new to rabbit care. I have a male (neutered) rabbit he is 8 months old. He was neutered in December, so the amount of time has passed that I was advised before I introduced a female rabbit. I would like to get him a friend and I've seen a female rabbit that is 4 months old, so obviously hasn't been sprayed as yet (but would be when old enough). They will both live indoors, and my male rabbit has adjusted to sharing the house with me well, I just wondered if anyone had any advise, i.e. firstly is a good idea to introduce an a female that has been sprayed yet, should I keep them apart until she has been.. etc... etc.

Any advise greatly received before I make the decision on getting him a companion.

Hello

It is possible to introduce an unspayed Doe to a neutered Buck, but it can be more challenging. Especially as Spring time approaches, the hormonal behaviour is likely to be more heightened as the daylight hours extend. It's known as 'Spring Fever' !