• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bunny Gates?

Hello,

I have two rabbits, a boy Bertrand who is one and a girl Arlo who is five months. I am new to rabbits and just got them over a month ago. I am keeping them separate for now. I had Bertrand neutered a week and a half ago, but from advice in the forum I have decided not to properly introduce them until Arlo gets neutered too. I had her at the vet this morning though and have been advised to wait six to eight weeks before getting her done because she is so young. I was speaking to the vet though, and though I don't want to introduce them properly, I thought it might be nice for them to get used to each other through a gate, as they can smell each other and know there is another rabbit in the house. I have Bertrand in the living room just now and Arlo gets the bedroom and kitchen, however going between rooms is a bit of an event as there is only a door and I have one rabbit on either side trying to get to the other one :/. I was thinking I might try putting a baby gate in between their areas. That way they can't fight but they can sniff and see each other and perhaps it will be easier. I have been looking at baby gates though and the gaps in the bars all look way too big. Bertrand jumps really high and Arlo can dig and squeeze through those bar spaces I bet. Does anyone know of any good bunny gates? I saw some that were screens but I'm pretty sure they could chew through those.

Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions.

Siobhán