• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Doing my homework to prepare. .

Tamwill

Young Bun
Looking for advice in advanced preparation for a possible 2nd litter after my pair of sisters decided to surprise me with a litter of 4 12 days ago. I separated the parents as soon as I could after the surprise but I suspect Mildred has another litter on the way cos she's fattening back up at a surprising rate for a nursing mum (I'm no expert but I would imagine she'd stay pretty slim whilst meeting the demands of a litter?) anyway, currently mum and babies are in a two tier cage with a barrier round the ramp to prevent babies falling but still allowing Mildred the freedom of the whole cage and adjoining run. If/when another litter arrive I assume Mildred will need space to attend the new arrivals but the older ones will be very young to leave her. Is putting the 4 week old babies in the bottom tier and having a barrier at the bottom of the ramp to prevent them going up but so Mildred can still come down an option? I'm just thinking that gives Mildred space to tend to new babies but allowing older babies to remain with access to mum for a while longer. Anyone offer words of wisdom?

Although I haven't experienced this personally I beleive the babies will be near on weaned by the time the second litter arrives. I would suggest you contact your local vets andsee what they suggest, they might be able to find out if she is expecting again.
What have you done with the brother? It's just if she does have a second litter will he be on his own? If so now is a good time to take some steps to prevent more babies and get him neutered, however be careful as reintroduction after a litter can be stressful for the pair if they have little contact during the raising of the babies.