• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Wet Bunnies!

ClaireS

New Kit
Hi everyone, its my first time on the site so I hope I have posted this in the correct place.

My question is do rabbits like the rain? I have two female rabbits aged 12 weeks and over the past few days it has rained, the rabbits seem to sit at the front of the cage when it rains which makes me think that they dont mind it. Is it ok to let them in their run once the rain has stopped even though the patio is soaked, or can they come out in light drizzle? Also what do I do with them in the winter? When can I let them out, I hate the thought of them being in their cage all winter. Also what kind of protection can I put up at the front of their cage, plastic? or does it have to be special stuff.

Hope you can help.

:wave: Hiya Claire, welcome to you and your buns, is that Treacle aka Sooty?

As for wet buns, I tend not to let the buns get wet as I feel it might make them more susceptable to arthritis in later years. Domestic bred rabbits aren't as hardy as wild buns and their coats are different.

Hello Claire and welcome.