• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Possibly getting a house rabbit

Bulibby

New Kit
So I've been helping my brother with his rabbit for a couple of years but now I want my own. I know I can look after it but I'm unsure about housing. I was thinking or having it in my room where it could run free but I don't know what I would need or my options. I don't think my bedroom would be big enough for a big cage so could I just have no cage or convert under my guinea pig cage? I know I would have to take time to bunny proof my room but I don't know how I would save the skirting boards is there something I could put on that? Also could I have only one rabbit or do I have to have two or could I somehow let it have play dates between it and my brothers rabbit? Does the gender make a difference to how much mess it makes and how easy it is to potty train?
Any other information would be greatly welcomed :D

Before you can put 2 rabbits together they would have to be neutered. If your brother has a female rabbit then she probably won't get along with another female. How much space can you allocate to a rabbit as they need more space than guinea pigs and would be unhappy in a small area.

Hiya Bulibby, welcome to the forum. Rabbits are social animals and need to be kept in pairs or groups. As tonibun pointed out, they would need to be neutered first. M/f is usually the easiest combo. They would also need time for their hormones to diminish after the op and very careful introductions.

Rabbits are a huge commitment (no easier than dogs) and need a LOT of room due to being very intelligent and energetic. They need to be kept occupied with toys, freedom and company in order to be happy and not become aggressive/destructive.