• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Can anyone guess approx age and breed of these two bunnies .....

Bitzy-B

Mama Doe
..........my cousin got them from Pets at Home yesterday, was told they were both lops and that they were both 8 weeks old .....I'm doubtful on both counts but then I'm no expert ...... so could anyone please give me your best guess??

The spotty one is apparently chasing the smaller one and humping her and fur pulling.

Can anyone help please?

Tia xx

Well............neither have lopped ears (although that may change as they get older).
If they are from P@H, they are likely to be mixed breed anyway.
Neither of them look like proper babies in these pics - the smaller brown one is chunky round the front - possibly a bit of a dewlap?.
All P@H rabbits are supposed to be microchipped now - so it may give you some idea of how old they are from the data held on the register.

I would get them properly sexed elsewhere before your friend end up with a few more bunnies that they were not planning on.

Thanks Shimmer, I'm glad I'm not the only one that doubts what P@H have said ...... they told her they were both girls and so wouldn't ever fight!!! I've told her to get them to the vets asap to be sexed, vacc'd and MOT'd to see if they can be spayed.

Welllllll, I'm no expert but they both look fully grown, over 6 months?, neither are lop, in fact the brown one looks to have some Netherland Dwarf in the mix!

I agree. IMO definitely not babies and most likely not lop ears either. I'm going with mixed breed too! I could be wrong but the agouti one looks like it may have a tiny bit of nethie in her? I'm not an expert by any means though!