• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bonding....is this normal? Help!

clutterydrawer

Wise Old Thumper
So I made a thread mentioning this in Chat but now I am stuck and need help!

I'm bonding my friend's buns. I've never done it before. It's been going well, a few scuffles and humping but generally they seemed happy to be around each other. They shared dinner earlier and were snuggled up together in the litter tray...there have been a few grooming sessions too.

Just now they had a massive fight, Blackberry bit Lily's ear and drew blood :? Is it normal for the to go backwards like this? Is there a chance of them bonding ok or does behaviour like this mean they'll never be ok as a pair?

Also I was wondering whether I should leave them loose together or separate and re-introduce later. :? They are ignoring each other at the minute.

Could you give us a little bit of info such as sex of the rabbits, whether or not both are neutered, age, how long have they been close to one another.

Ignoring each other is usually a good sign as it means that they are not bothered by each other's presence :) If they have already been grooming/snuggling then it is unlikely that they are incompatible, otherwise they would have just fought constantly from the beginning. They are probably just trying to establish who is top bun, but neither want to be submissive.

Had you increased the area or changed anything before they started fighting? Also, make sure you keep an eye on her ear and if it shows signs of infection then get your friend to take her to the vet to get it checked out.

Blackberry (M) is 3 ish, not sure on Lily, (F) she looks a few years older. They're rescues who came in without a definite age. They're both neutered and were only introduced yesterday.