• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My Rabbits Like to Keep House - Funny Habit?

njbunnymom

Young Bun
I'm new to rabbits but noticed a funny quirk about my pair. The other day, my buck, Jiji found that I had put a handful of rabbit pellets on the plate I normally use for his fruit and vegetables. The pellets weren't in the normal dish that day. He went over to the plate, lifted it quite purposefully with his mouth and dumped all the pellets onto the feeding area. He then moved the plate over a good foot away from the food with his mouth. One day when the house was hot and dry due to our heating system, I had put out a larger plastic dish of water - not the normal crockery dish I use. Grace, my doe, went over to the dish, lifted it up and dumped it all over the feeding area (this was an achievement - that dish was heavy with water). Lately, I've found that the little hay feeder that I use in Jiji's cage (where he sleeps at night - he free-ranges during the day) has been disconnected from the cage during the night and the hay has been strewn about. I cannot figure that one out yet.

I've seen them want to both join in when we clean house or have papers on the floor we're trying to organize - especially Grace. When we were hanging ornaments on the Christmas tree, Grace was right there next to us picking up things on the floor, purposefully moving them from one side of the floor to the other.

I'm amazed by anyone that can honestly say that rabbits are not smart creatures. These are thought out, purposeful, cause and reaction movements that show reasoning on some level.

Does anyone else have rabbits that keep house or are really particular about their feeding areas? I'm just so fascinated watching their behaviors.