• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Mixed or pure bred rabbits

Julia25

Alpha Buck
What type of rabbit has more health problems?

Pure breds, or mixed.

If you compare it to dogs, the mongrels (mixed breed) have less health problems than the pure bred, do you think this is the same with bunny's?

Hello [emoji4]
I've never had a pure bred rabbit but this does interest me as I tend to disagree with breeding pets into specific shapes and sizes. I'm no expert, but from my experience we seem to breed problems, eg. a friend of mine loves pugs but their little flat faces make it hard for them to breathe at times.
I suppose with a pure bred you can predict more accurately, eg. I've heard Netherlands dwarves can have dental issues and Rex rabbits sore hocks. Of my 4 mixed rabbits, 3 have been generally healthy so far (the eldest is 6 this year, long may it continue!) and 1 has a sensitive stomach.

Pure breeds tend to have more problems than mixed, whatever the species.

I strongly advise that whether you have pure breed or mixed, you get insurance.

Pure breeds tend to have more problems than mixed, whatever the species.

I strongly advise that whether you have pure breed or mixed, you get insurance.

^ this

Also... if you do decide to go for a purebred - find out about breed specific issues.

Oh no! I was just curious, i already have a bunny who is mixed but i was just thinking. Just questions, i've had pure and mixed breeds before.