• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Insurance and exclusions

sashababe

Warren Scout
I've just had a claim approved for my boys recent abscess/ear infection treatment, really pleased as they've covered everything (minus the excess of course and less than £5 of dental work). My query is in peoples experience, will the condition become an exclusion when his policy renews, and is it likely that if he had a recurrence before the end of policy year, that it would/wouldn't be covered? I am with helpucover. Will give them a ring at some point to confirm but just wondering what is 'usual'. My understanding is that abscesses are likely to recur so I want to be prepared for covering that cost if he will no longer be insured for it!

I have no experience of Helpucover's policies but with the two insurers I deal with Petplan and Pets at Home then as long as you keep paying your premiums then you are covered. This *in theory should* apply if you have a life time policy with an insurer. Definitely check it out for peace of mind but I would expect it to be covered. It certainly has for any of mine with the insurers I use.

It depends on what cover you have. If you have a 12-month cover policy then you'll be covered for any recurrence within 12 months of the original and then you pay for anything after that, but if you have a lifetime policy then it should be covered for life as long as you keep the policy continuous and up to date with payments, and you will probably have to pay the excess every year. So it's an impossible question to answer as it depends on the nature of your policy. Fingers crossed for you!

Seems like its mostly covered by others.

You can check on your insurance documents your level of cover.