• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New Rabbits

Steph530

New Kit
Hi everyone,

I'm new to owning rabbits and this site.

We recently brought our 2 boys (Roger & Dodger) in August, they were 14 weeks old. We brought them from Pets at Home, which we now realise was not the best decision but it's done now and we love our boys to bits.

I wish I'd found this site sooner as I now know that their hutch is nowhere near enough space for them. They have to 2 tier hutch from pets at home (I think it's called Rose Cottage). They have a run outside but only when supervised as it's not secure enough.

So....my plan is to build a rabbit shed with attached run. I've got to come to an agreement with hubby first as it's my plan is going to take a huge chunk of the garden, oops.

My ideal shed will be 7x5 but will compromise to 6x4, the run will be attached to the side of the shed and will be 8ft long and the width of the shed (depending on what size shed). The boys will have 24/7 access via a cat flap, the run will also hopefully be the height of the shed so we can get in with them and to help cleaning.

I've got to wait until after Christmas before I can do this as I've got to save the money and now is probably not the best weather to start building and painting. The boys hutch is currently in the garage (no cars ever in there) so they don't get too cold.

Does this plan sound ok size wise?

Does anyone have any ideas or photos on how to deck out the inside, I was hoping to have some levels for them to jump/climb so it's a bit more interesting for them?

Thanks in advance, all help is welcome.

Steph