• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

How to go about family members, who disagree...

BunnyMania

Young Bun
I've been considering another rabbit for a while, and beside the lack of rabbits who would suit me and my current girl in the rescues 'local' to me, there is another issue that comes up.

I'm a student and still living with my mother. She has owned rabbits in the past, including when I was young. However they were always single, outdoor rabbits. It was hard enough getting her over the thought of my girl being spayed, and living indoors, let alone...another rabbit.

As she's never had issues with her single rabbits in the past she feels that they don't need companions. Now of course, I disagree. At present my timetable works so that I'm not away from home for very long most days, and can spend time with Belle but I know that this may well change in the future, and I can't be there for her at night or most of the day. The problem is that mum doesn't feel that she needs a friend, and that having another rabbit in the house would smell (again, I disagree, Belle is litter trained so there's no problem with smells there).

Has anyone else had to deal with something similar from a family member before? Am I fighting a losing battle?

I've even taken a few leaflets from my vets about how rabbits need a companion, she won't acknowledge them!

I suppose you could take her to see rabbits that are living in pairs or groups, or perhaps find some videos about them on YouTube. If she already likes rabbits, she might be moved by seeing how happy they are when they're with friends.