• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Aggressive female in bonding

helpme

Young Bun
Hello!

Newbie here! Desperate for some advice for my situation!

I have a grumpy neutered female. Had her about a year and thought she would be happier with a mate, after reading lots of rabbit advice online. Yesterday I brought home a sweet neutered male about the same age.

As per a website I'd read, I put them in the bath together today. He initially tried to hump her and she was not happy. She bit him on the rump and latched on. There were a few more scuffles. SO much of his fur all over the place! I did intervene with the bites but put them side by side and petted, stroked and talked to them both. She calmed down a lot, really relaxed and lay flat on the bath. He was still more upright. I did this to them for about 10-15 minutes. If I stopped stroking, he sniffed her and I was worried she'd bite him, so I kept on. He eventually nuzzled right into her side, it was so sweet! I then briefly separated them (he went into a pet carrier) as my baby woke up from his nap. When i went back I reopened the pet carrier. He was reluctant to come out and when he did she bit him on the face! Latched on for a few seconds whilst I eeked and banged a saucepan. God, it was so stressful!

I have now read lots of websites and am panicking that it is all going wrong and I am a terrible rabbit owner and they will never be friends. She is so bloody grumpy (she has bitten me before) and territorial. What do you all think? I am planning on trying the bath again tomorrow (I have swapped over soiled litter tray overnight, but she is in an outdoor hutch/run and he is in an indoor cage). What should I do?

Many, many thanks in advance, Laura