• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Tripod Bunnies

Rhianna

Wise Old Thumper
Sadly one of my bunnies, Cherry, had one of her hind legs amputated today. I've been crying most of the day but that's not very productive so I thought I'd start a thread asking for advice.

Cherry is an outdoor bunny, living with her husbun, Hovis. They have two hutches in their run - a 5' double with a ramp and a 6' double with a ramp. I would imagine she won't be able to cope with ramps but my finances are dire and I'm not good at diy and have arthritis.

Short term she has a small pen in my bedroom.

Am picking her up tomorrow.

Sadly one of my bunnies, Cherry, had one of her hind legs amputated today. I've been crying most of the day but that's not very productive so I thought I'd start a thread asking for advice.

Cherry is an outdoor bunny, living with her husbun, Hovis. They have two hutches in their run - a 5' double with a ramp and a 6' double with a ramp. I would imagine she won't be able to cope with ramps but my finances are dire and I'm not good at diy and have arthritis.

Short term she has a small pen in my bedroom.

Am picking her up tomorrow.

I'm sorry to hear about Cherry.

Wilfred my tripod boy lost a hind leg too some years back. He is lucky because it happened when he was fairly young so has learned to use his one back leg well, and places it pretty much underneath his bum but it does mean his spine is slightly wonky and I imagine it will make it more prone to deterioration and pain as he gets older. He is a French lop so he carries a whole lot of weight on it.