PDA

View Full Version : Advice with new hutch please?

Welsh Cadet
26-06-2015, 06:52 PM
I will be building a hutch for 2 bunnies this weekend and im looking for some advice on a couple of things

Im going to be treating the outside of the hutch with either Ronseal Timbercare or Cuprinol Gardens Shades, depending on which I can get my hands on ( I think their animal safe? does B&Q have their own make of treatment that's suitable? ) and im unsure if its safe to use them on the inside of the hutch aswell?

Also, as I work in the flooring trade I was thinking of using a waterproof vinyl on the floor of the hutch to make cleaning easier, is this ok? I havnt had bunnies in "ears" :D so cant remember if they chew/dig inside the hutch ( don't want them chewing the vinyl) if I cant, is the above treatments suitable for the floor of the hutch?

As I said its been years since I had rabbits ( I was about 10 ) so any advice will be much appreciated

Thankyou in advance

biscandmatt1
26-06-2015, 07:07 PM
cuprinol garden shades are definitely safe and the one most people use. wilkos also do a garden shades range which is also safe. not sure about any others.

alot of people also line the floor with lino/vinyl so that will be fine aswell. plenty of examples in the housing section. lots of pictures of lovely housing.

recommended sizing has moved on alot aswell, so this is something else to look into, if you haven't already. :)

AnnieElms
26-06-2015, 07:08 PM
Hi,

This sounds like a great project! Cuprinol garden shades is bunny safe. Lino is a good idea too. It makes "spillages" easy to clean up.