• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Considering a second bun...

Sorry if this is a bit long or in the wrong section of the forum. I'm a first time bunny owner and I've had Lily for a year and a half. I did research but definitely not enough before getting her - she was from pets at home and they sold me a far too small indoor cage as they tend to do! If I could do it again of course I would get a rescue bun. She has lived in an x-pen for quite some time now and is (mostly) litter trained. When I got her, I was a student so had a lot of time in the house to let her have supervised exercise time in the living room and often other rooms. After that I moved home and she had my company and a lot of exercise time in one or two rooms, and even when I was working my dad was in to give her attention/let her out to run.

However my circumstances have changed and I now live in a small flat alone with her, working full time. I considered giving her up but I love her so much and couldn't bear to lose her unless I had to! She now gets an hour's supervised run in the morning then usually 4-5 hours each evening, and more on the weekends. I really worry I'm not giving her enough exercise and that she's lonely now I'm out in the day. I understand buns should have company and I would really like to get her a male neutered companion (she was spayed a year ago). My problem is that she is very feisty, active and independent, not aggressive but definitely not one to sit and cuddle very often (although she does love to lick my hands!). I don't know if she would be able to bond with another bun or how I would even get to a rescue to sort her out a companion - I don't drive, although I can afford taxis if necessary.