• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Entrusting your rabbits to someone else

Sky-O

Wise Old Thumper
How do you do it? Especially the very sick and old and a large amount of them. I know the person can do the practical stuff, bar injections, but they won't have my knowledge, and they won't know the rabbits enough and also won't have my gut instinct. The person will do their best but what if me not being there means they are let down in some way?

I've never done it before but am faced with having to. Maybe for 4-5 days but maybe longer.

I make a lists for everything, feeding schedules, vets numbers, instructions to take to the vet if not eating/ not behaving normally, alternative family members contact numbers, insurance details. I do worry about it in the run up and whilst away, but I know that I do the best I can for them year round, and sometimes I need a break, so have to trust that everything will be ok. (And it always has been)

Thanks for your reply. Practically, that will all be sorted- I'm talking the deeper stuff, so the connection I have with them and how that informs choices I make, how I feel about abandoning them, stuff like that. Mum is going to have to give sixty plus daily meds out, plus dealing with any necessary PTSs, crises, etc. it's not as straight forward as your average rabbits and getting someone else to look after them- this is more like a military operation, but with messy emotions.