• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

I'm really not an expert here and I'm sure others will have much better suggestions, but just a thought have you tried adding forage to his hay? Or putting his pellets in his hay instead of just putting them in a bowl for him? Maybe if you put food with the hay, and don't put the hay anywhere but where there is food (and possibly in the litter tray with some other bits like pellets and forage so that if he wants to eat and use the bathroom at the same time like most buns he can do that too) he might get the hint that the hay is edible? If he really won't eat hay have you tried readygrass? Mine will dig through WALLS to get at readygrass, and it's still good for their teeth and digestion.

Awwww well done for helping the little fella !! It may be that he has never been fed a good hay based diet, hence his preference for pellets. I think a thorough Dental examination by a Vet would be a good idea. 5 years of a bad diet is very likely to have caused some Dental problems. So not only may he not want to eat hay, he actually may not be able to do so due to problems with his molar teeth. The jaw action required to eat hay is very different to that required to eat pellets. Hence Rabbits with problems with their molar teeth often refuse hay but they will eat pellets.

Hopefully once any possible Dental problems are sorted out you can try to get him onto a more hay based diet. It may be trial and error until you find a type of hay he likes. There are a wide variety available these days, but am I right in thinking you are not in the UK ?