• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Please can someone who has a house trained rabbit help me

Hi I have no knowledge on how to look after a rabbit, I want to buy one and look after one I want to be able to keep my rabbit as a house pet and need to know what I need for the rabbit I.e. Types of food, a cozy bed, and what I need to keep my rabbit safe and happy . Note it will not be kept in a hutch in a room is more preferable please can someone tell me what I need.

It is a goid idea to have a small hutch, cage or hidey house available for the rabbit to get away and hide if she /he wants to. My rabbit Julie lived in the kitchen but had a small cage filled with hay to burrow in and a large storage box with a lid and cave cut out to enter. Her litter bix was kept in there for privacy. You will need lots of hay and greens, food and water bowls and toys for chewing and playing. Julie loved balls to roll especially treat balls. I never locked the cage. The kitchen was rabbit proofed and she was alowed to play in the rest of the house suppervised.

I started off with Benji in a cage that was very large but left open all the time so he could decide when he wanted to come out, in the end, 6 months later, we no longer needed the cage because Benji had decided he would rather live under the dining room table;):lol:

It sounds like house trained would be important so rather than buying one, I'd go to a rescue and adopt a neutered rabbit(s). Young rabbits pee and poop everywhere until after they are neutered which isn't great indoors.

The Rabbit Welfare Association have lots of good advice for new rabbit owners, their booklet is here: http://rabbitwelfare.co.uk/pdfs/RWAbrochuremaster.pdf