• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bonding UD had a fight

bunbuns

Warren Veteran
:(This is so stressful :shock: so I picked up a buck from the RSPCA today. Initial signs seemed good. When he tried to hump my doe she ran away and when he didn't give up she boxed him. That all settled down but now she's humping him and pulling lumps of fur out while she's doing it. Next minute they are sitting next to each other in the litter tray!

How's it sounding? I'm a nervous wreck :oops:

Last edited:
Hmmm, doesn't sound too bad to me! I'm no expert though! They are on completely neutral territory though right?

He's chasing her and trying to hump her all the time! Should I just leave them? She's still eating and grooming herself so not too stressed x

Sounds like pretty normal bonding behaviour so far. Just keep an eye on her reactions (as you are doing).

Its pretty all consuming isnt it? I watched my four like a hawk and even had to get up at night to intervene at times!

Good luck.

I'm sleeping downstairs with them tonight! OH thinks I'm mad :lol:

I feel it's gonna be a long one :roll:

You need nerves of steel don't you :lol: I found a glass or 2 of wine (for me not the buns :shock:) helped calm the nerves. Have you got them in a smallish place to restrict the amount of chasing they can do? Fingers crossed you get some sleep :thumb:

Yes it's a pretty small space! His chasing just seems to be getting worse and he'll nip her bottom as if he wants her to move.

Think I'll take your advice and have a glass of rose:thumb:

I hope things settle down soon :thumb: could you reduce the space using puppy panels or something if he keeps up with the chasing?