• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My double sized shed is a blank canvas

Mormordook

Young Bun
Hi everyone .... I'm new to keeping bunnies. I am getting 2 rescue bunnies next week and I'm planning on letting them free range in the large garden shed and hopefully cut an opening out in to their run. It really is a massive shed and I can convert it to suit the bunnies . I was thinking about putting a hutch in the back of the shed with door always open. Is that a sensible idea ? I also wondered if I should go for a hutch with an upper level or just go for a single story as they are inside the shed anyway ? Any advice is welcome. I have 2 guinea pigs too ( that will not be in with the bunnies ) and in winter their hutch goes in the shed but I keep their hutch closed in the shed. I'm thinking I could have a guinea section and a much larger rabbit section . Somehow separated . Thanks everyone :)

Personally I think unless you already have the hutch you'd be totally fine without one. They're relatively expensive and you can create nice little cubby holes and places to hide/snooze without the expense and space of a large hutch. If you have one you could definitely put it in if you wanted, or even better you could put it in the run if the run is big enough, but I personally wouldn't buy one specifically for use in the shed.