• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Best way to house rabbits?

AmyKennedy

Young Bun
Hey guys! This is my first time posting on this forum, so sorry if i do something wrong, and it looks like an awesome place hehe.
So anyway, I currently don't have any rabbits, but am looking into rescuing a pair or possibly fostering with a local shelter. I've been looking at hutches but for a good sized one it can get very very expensive, and they kinda look like a pain to put in toys, clean out, and get to the rabbits. xx
So my main question is what is the best alternative way to keep them? I said before that large hutches are very expensive, but money isn't really an issue, i have a few hundred pounds for the "start up costs" of getting rabbits.
Also, I have a "summerhouse" in my garden, its kinda just like a big shed i guess XD Its inside smallest dimensions are 7'6" by 9'7". It is waterproof, and has electricity and light inside, but isnt very warm (although i do have a plug in radiator i use when in there). I would quite like to build some sort of large pen inside of it, as part of it has my desk, and thats where i study and stuff, but if i need to i guess i could do something else. Also it has two pretty large openable windows. The main three problems i see with keeping rabbits in here is that it isnt normally much warmer than outside, but i dont think thats a huge problem (?), the floor is just like plain wooden planks, and the whole front side of the summerhouse is glass panels. I dont know the exact word for them, but they are like a wall of 4 seperate panels, made of glass and wood, like in a grid shape? Two of them are the double doors which open outwards. Sorry for all the detail about it, i just dont really know whats relevant and what isnt XD