• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New to Bunnies

Sparklebunny

Young Bun
Hi all

I'm new to Bunnies and obviously want to get off to a good start when I get them (about a months time). I want to be able to keep them indoors but they will also have a garden to roam around in.

I've owned rats for about 12 years now and know from experience that the books you read don't always give you the right information so would be really appreciative of any help you guys can give me.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum, what sort of information do you need to know? :wave:

Also nice to have another ratty lover.

Hi Amy :wave:

Yeah we seem to be few and far between these days.

Basically, from what I know, Rabbits eat hay and veg with some pellets mixed in. Is that right?

As I'm planning on having them indoors (apart from when I supervise them in the garden), how big would their cage need to be? They will only be in it when we are not around but I want to give them enough room

Is there anything I should be looking for when I'm 'picking them out'?

Hi Sparklebunny, welcome to RU! :D

Some basics about buns:

They need A LOT of space, particularly if they're youngsters. Forget the idea of an indoor cage - instead look at bunny proofing a room for them to live in, then let them free range around the house when you're home.

They can live for a good long time. I just lost my boy at nearly 11, so be prepared for the future! Consider insurance or putting away the equivalent money each month in an 'emergency bunny fund'.