• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Spring Behaviour Change?

Hi All,

I am very new to this and this is my first post and I can't seem it find the answer anywhere. Who better to ask than those who have rabbits like me!

I have 2 english rabbits - Nala and Milo. Both under one.

Nala was brought into the home first, followed by Milo a couple of months later when we realised that buns shouldn't be kept alone.

They have both been neutered/spayed and we have tried some bonding with them but we are yet to succeed. We think we will have some success when we move house so the territory is completely new and both buns are older.

My question is.... Since Nala started shedding LOTS of a fur she has been displayed unusual behaviour. She is digging anything and everything, including me! She has always been a cuddly rabbit and would often come and sit with me for long cuddles while watching the tv. Now this is very rare. She is much more active and seems a lot more on edge. We have recently given both her and Milo much bigger cages and I thought this may have unsettled her but her strange behaviour started before this.

Has anyone experienced this before? Is it seasonal? Will she return to her loving self?

I'd appreciate any thoughts you have! I just want her to be happy!!!!!

Melissa

Spring can make them behave a little hyper - sometimes you see behaviours that are normally associated with unneutered rabbits - my lad who has been neutered six years has been circling my feet honking lately :lol:

Rabbits moult regularly - house rabbits more so :)