• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

bonding neville - absolute newbie to this.

Jesselle

Mama Doe
after a lot of talking and consideration of my options for neville, this friday we will be going to gbh rescue to see if neville gets on with a little nethie doe called susan (alternative names welcome!). he'll be 5 weeks post neuter and i'm hoping he'll be ok to meet her as he wasn't very hormonal to start with. i then have 4 days until i am back in the office, so i'm hoping this is enough time to monitor them.

if they don't try to kill each other, susan will be coming home with us. the lady at the rescue is going to advise me, but what exactly do i do with them once i get home?!

this is what i imagined would happen - they travel home (an hour!) in the same carrier, a neutral small pen set up is ready and waiting for them in a room neville hasn't been in, neville goes in first followed by susan. i then watch them for the next 3-4 days. is that right? if it's going well, i can gradually increase their space and eventually move them into the room they're going to be living in?

obviously this is assuming the best possible outcome... i realise it could be a lot more problematic than that.

questions about the bonding pen:

- can they share a water bowl and large litter tray? or do they need one each?
- can they have a den/house (with 2 doors i assume) or is it too early for that?

scared :shock:

How exciting! You have got everything right, you only need 1 water bowl and normally we don't put any litter tray in at this stage. You have to forget all the good habits for now, give them plenty of hay and good luck.