• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Nervous about RSPCA adoption!

Tessie

Young Bun
Hey!

So hopefully I'm about to start the RSPCA adoption process! I've seen a bun who I love! :love:
He is perfect for Luna!

I spoke to a nice lady on the phone, she said he's available, and explained about the home check process etc.

I'm really nervous, I've googled and it seems there are lots of things about the RSPCA being really fussy? Minimum rabbit accomodation... 50 square feet?!
I'm so worried they'll turn me down - I'm smitten! :(

I'm worried that they won't like that I'm a student, that they won't like that I live in a house with friends, that I have laminate floors, that the cage is big enough (it's not 50 square feet!), that they'll think my room is too small?! I'm really nervous :(

Anyone got any calming advice?
Going to the center tomorrow - will let you know how it goes!

Different branches have different requirement so you need to check what your local ones is :) The 50 feet is usually for hutch/run combos so they wouldn't usually apply the rule the same for house bunnies. There might be a minimum size on the cage though. They'll usually give you a chance to make any necessary changes eg adding a pen or upgrading the space.

You say you're in London, which Branch are you going through?

I adopted a bun from the Milbrook branch in Surrey and I had nothing to worry about. The only thing you'll need if you are renting is a letter from your landlord confirming they are happy for you to get a rabbit. :)

Remember, the homecheckers are animal lovers too so just make sure they see how happy and content Luna is and I am sure they will be happy to let a boy bunny join her :)

I'm going to the southridge branch in Hertfordshire.

I'll let you know how it goes!