• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

how do i choose a friend?

LauraLou1982

Warren Scout
hello! :wave:

whats the best way to chose a friend for my little lady? shes spayed and on her own, now shes recovered I want to get her a friend. She was with two aggressive boys who wasn't very nice to her and kept in a tiny cage and she was very subdued and quiet when we got her. Now shes put weight on and looks fab, has really come out of herself and gets excited when she sees me coming! (probably for the food and veg but hey ho lol)

I don't want her to lonely though! I want to get her a friend shes gonna bond with but dont have a clue how to do this? I dont want to get bunny that hates her or she hates?

Any advice whats the best way to approach this? I have no experience in bonding either!

Probably best to get a rescue to help you choose a suitable male and then have a little date - and if they get on then the rescue may offer a bonding service and bond them for you.

Best place to start is local rescues.

Simple!

I think the best way is too look around. When I got my rabbit (she is a giant continental dark steel) I got it from a breeder called Julia's giants. She is so loving and is best friends with my dog (cocker spaniel) however unless you don't want a giant rabbit which grows to the same size as a toddler I would say go for a breeder which sells rabbits which have been bonded with other rabbit or have been living in the same hutch with other rabbits so when you bring the rabbit home it doesn't take it out of its normal routine and so you know it can be trusted with another rabbit, hope it helps:)

Best wishes, Rosie rabbit :wave: