• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Submissive bunny won't groom.

Milo+Fizz

Mama Doe
Is this normal or does it confirm to the dominant bunny they are boss is a vital stage to bonding? My trio have been together a good few weeks now and all was going really well. However sally has now accepted Fizz is higher in the group than she is but she won't groom her when she asks for it. Sally has always been bottom bunny in her duo but it has always been Roo who does the grooming. I have never seen her groom him. Can it work if she won't groom as Fizz chases her when she ignores her.

I have no experience in bonding rabbits but my submissive rabbit never grooms the dominant one, the dominant one grooms the submissive one though. They are a mother-son pair though with the mother being the dominant one so maybe their relationship is different. They have fought a couple of times so that I had to separate them but they were fine after. Every now and again she puts him in his place by humping him, at least that's what I think she is doing. For a long time I thought he had to be the dominant one because he never grooms her but someone who knew a lot more about rabbits (vet nurse who boarded them for a week) said that the mother is very clearly the boss.

Sorry don't have any advice as I don't know anything about bonding and stuff but this is how it works for my pair, sounds like your older pair had a similar relationship to them, hopefully it will work out as a trio as well.