• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

what do you do with your rabbit waste?

san

New Kit
how do you dispose of your rabbits waste?

wondering what everyone else does with theirs i seem to have a few bag from the daily cleans
wonder if it's o'k to put the soiled rabbit hay, straw,wood shaving and wood pellets from the litter tray in with the garden waste wheelie bin?
my normal house hold waste bin is always full as i have a big family and i don't fancy going to the tip once a week.

i'm sure you can tell i'm new to having rabbits.:D

I put hay and poop in the garden waste bin, but that fills up within a week and is only collected every fortnight, so it has to go in the normal waste bin along with the newspaper I use in their litter trays which works out fine because that's collected once a week. I've been able to fit more in since we were given the recycling bags and boxes.

Not sure about wood pellets and shavings. The wood pellets I use for the cat goes in general waste though. Could you perhaps change the shavings to newspaper or something like megazorb as I think that can go into garden waste? Shavings can cause respiratory issues in rabbits because of the phenols ( ?) they release, not to mention being really messy!

Last edited:
Mine has to be bagged and go into normal household waste black bin.
Our green bin is only for cardboard, newspapers and plastic. We have nothing for garden waste. It does seem to vary from area to area.

either in bin bags in the general waste or loose in the garden waste. I use megazorb in the litter trays which is wood pulp so it's all fine to be in the garden bin :)

It goes in the bin, it can't go in the recycling or whatever. When the council make a new one for bunny poops then I'll recycle. :thumb: