• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

i'm no expert but it might take a wee bit of time to settle in... I have had no success with bonding but can understand your frustrations and worry...

Can the rescue not bond for you? If things dont appear to be working, they sometimes offer to do it for you?

all the very best.. I hope things improve

Fee x

It sounds like he's feeling unsettled and it dealing with it by trying to avoid interaction with aggression.

There are a few options, you can take him back and try a different bunny - it's sounds like he's the issue so no reason she wouldn't bond with another bun, find someone else to help - sometimes a bit of experience and completely neutral territory makes a big difference, or persevere keeping in mind it might take a bit of time and there isn't 100% guarantee.

Re the aggression toward you, I would guess it's fear aggression. He's nervous and it's the only way he can communicate give me a little space I'm out of my depth. Try not interacting with him directly for a bit. Don't look directly at him, walk directly toward him or make any move towards touch him. Pretend you don't see him - that's bunny for 'I'm not sure about you but we could be friends at some point'. Try spending time near where he is but doing other things reading/watching TV etc. just so he learn you hanging around isn't going to lead to anything scary. Let him come to you if he wants and if he does have something tasty ready.

You might well find that once he's feeling a little more secure about you and his new home he'll be less inclined to react to your other bunny in an aggressive way.