• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New French Lop Rabbit Owner to be ........

Hello,
I am new to owning bunnies :) we are getting two baby French lop bunnies in 3 weeks time when they're ready to go. I have never had a rabbit before so any help, tips and advice would be muchly appreciated :)

My husband is building a big double hutch for them in the garage and a run for outside. What do I put in the hutch for comfort? Hay? Also I've heard about the new pellet rabbit food, how much will they eat at 5 weeks old? I was thinking to put a tray for them to toilet in too when in their hutch at nights.

I was thinking to get a girl and a boy but I'm unsure as I know I have to keep them apart from 3 months old until the boy can be fixed at 5 months and then another 6 weeks after that. If I get two males then would I have to get them both fixed? How do two males get on upto 5 months old?

I have two kids, 2 1/2 year old boy and a nearly one year old girl and I'd like them to be involved as much as possible. Has anyone else gotten baby rabbits and had young children? How were your rabbits with the kids? Abit worried about them being bitten but hoping the people that they're coming from will have handled them plenty before they come to us so they're used to being around people and friendly.

Overall we're very excited about them and my son is telling everyone he's getting a blue rabbit lol!! Grey was as good as I could do for him :)

xx

Neutered boy and girl pair are normally the best match, Rabbit's can normally be neutered from 4 months old. But this depends on when the boy's testicles have dropped.

Hi, welcome to the forum, you're in just the right place to get tonnes of advice and cute photos of bunnies :wave::wave: