• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Doe moving her nest?

Eaj20

Young Bun
My doe had 3 kits yesterday i didnt know she was pregnant as she must have been pregnant when i got her. At the moment she is making a lot of noise in her cage and she has moved her babies i cant be sure if all 3 are still in there as she is very protective. But is this normal? I thought they normally made there nest and thats where they stayed? Or could she be about to give birth to yet more kits from the otherside or her uterine horn? As i know there is two i am a complete novice about rabbits having kits and i never thought i would be in this situation but now im constantly on edge that she is going to kill her babies.

Rabbits can not move their babies so what may have happened us that the babies moved themselves and she is now creating a new best for them because she has no way to bring them back to where they were. If there is anyway you can safely bring them all back together that would be ideal.

Have they been fed?

It sounds as though she is a very anxious Mother, probably very young herself and maybe this is her first litter :cry:

You need to remove HER from the hutch, well away so she cant see, smell or hear what you are doing. Then you need to rub your hands in her bedding before checking all kits and making sure they are in a nest and that there are not any dead/canabalised kits already. If any live kits are scattered out of the nest you need to put them back in the nest, first checking that they are looking round tummied and that their skin is not too wrinkly and dehydrated looking. Flat tummies and very wrinkly skin indicates that the Doe is not feeding them and their chances of survival are very slim :cry: