• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help re. long term fostering!

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the forum (and kind of to rabbits) in need of some advice so I hope you can help out! I've got two lovely house rabbits ("the terrors") which I originally adopted with my ex from Honey Bunnies, and whilst they aren't at all cuddly (thanks to whoever messed around with them before :( ) they are very friendly and sociable! However I've broken up with said ex and she's disappeared off, which is fine as tbh they were my babies! But I've had to move back home and they have had to be confined to their (admittedly spacious) hutch in the garage as we've a dog, which is cold, damp, dark and not at all fun for them... the garage that is, not the dog!

I'm moving out in September to start a new job and will be finding a houseshare where I can keep them (they will probably have to adapt as garden rabbits, but I'm sure they'll survive!) but that leaves 7 months of living in the garage which isn't fair on them at all. I would love to find them a long term boarding but as a student I can't afford it at all, so I was wondering if you guys had any ideas as to what I could do? What is looking like the best option for them is to put them up for adoption and then adopt some different bunnies in September, but not only is that a little ridiculous but I really don't want to lose them!

So yeah any help very much appreciated I'm at a little bit of a loss as to what to do.

if you decide to rehome them you need to contact Jill as I'm fairly sure all rabbits from the rescue must be returned! I would probably get a baby gate and close them in my bedroom, the baby gate just adds that extra defence against the dogs