• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Designing Rabbit Playpen, please answer my questions :)

Hey Everyone,

I am a product designer at University and I'm designing a rabbit playground.

I was just wondering if anyone could answer some questions for me...

Where do you keep your rabbit currently?

if outside, where abouts in your garden is your hutch?

Where do you keep your rabbit during the winter?

if in the house, which room and why?

and what breed of rabbit do you have?

this information will be very useful for me, if there is any other information you want to add with the design of the rabbit playground, please just let me know.

we had one of these last year, designed a very impractical hutch.
if you search round the site you'll find some lovely rabbit playgrounds.

In my bedroom.

When he was outside he lived in a shed across the garden with an aviary attached.

He's lives in all year round now he's an old boy (9).

He lives in my bedroom (free ranging) because being a single rabbit he needs my company, and because it's the only room my parents will let me scatter feed him in!

He's a yellow and white Dutch rabbit.

Hope that's helpful! :) If you're planning on designing an outdoor play pen it will need to have a preditor proof lid, and secure fastenings on the door - foxes can open bolts for instance. Any playpen will need to be tall enough for the rabbit to periscope (stand upright) without their ears reaching the lid. The wire (if that's what you're using) should be strong (chicken wire is no good for example, as it can be chewed through) and any gaps will need to be too small for weasles or snakes to fit through.

Last edited: